DWI and Drug Offender Education Program

DWI First Offender Education Program

Listed below are the dates of upcoming DWI First Offender Education Programs through the end of 2017:

October 27, 28, 29

November 17, 18, 19

December 15, 16, 17

The program meets in Plano on Friday evening from 6-10 PM and Saturday and Sunday Mornings from 9 AM – 1 PM.

This course is licensed by the Texas Department of State Health Services and is approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

If you are from out of state, please call to see if this course will meet your requirements.  If not, we will work out a program for you that satisfies your out of state needs.  We work with clients from Colorado, Illinois California, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Louisiana and dozens of other states.

The course is conducted by Misty Harris, LCDC, who makes it a fun, interesting and enjoyable experience.

 Call for Details.

Call Misty at 469-795-1571 to sign up.  The cost of the course is $75.00.  You may register in advance.

DWI Education Program – General Information   

Article 42.12, Section l3(h), Code of Criminal Procedure requires persons convicted of first offense DWI and receiving probation, to attend and successfully complete an educational program certified by the department.

Failure to complete the program within l80 days (unless an extension was granted) from the date probation was granted will result in the offender’s license being revoked. The license cannot be reinstated until the educational program is completed.

The standardized program is 12 hours in length and is designed to help DWI offenders increase their knowledge about alcohol and drugs as these substances relate to driving skills, to identify their own individual drinking/drug use and driving patterns, and to assist them in developing plans which will reduce the probability of future DWI behavior.

Specific course topics include alcohol/drug and traffic safety problems, Texas laws relating to DWI, effects of alcohol/drugs on humans, alcohol/drugs and driving task abilities, chemical dependency, symptoms of dependency, sources of assistance, costs of DWI, and decision-making skills.

Drug Offender Education Program (DOEP)

This class is offered in the Plano and McKinney Office each week.  Christine Riley is the Program Administrator and her experience and knowledge will provide helpful and informative information to guide you through this difficult time in life.  You will be thankful you had Christine for your facilitator.  Call Christine 469-980-8830 for a schedule of what times and days the classes will be held.

Offender Education Program Drug Offender Education Program – General Information        

Section 521.371-521.377, Texas Transportation Code (formerly Article 6687b, Section 24B, Texas Civil Statutes) states that persons convicted of a misdemeanor or felony drug offenses will automatically have their licenses suspended for a period of six months. In order to have their license reinstated, they must attend and successfully complete an education program on the dangers of drug abuse approved by the department.

Failure to complete the program will result in the license being revoked indefinitely until the education program is completed.

The standardized program is 15 hours in length and is designed to increase the knowledge of drug offenders by educating them on the dangers of drug abuse and associated illegal activities, to identify their own individual drug-use patterns, and to assist them in developing a personal action plan which will reduce the probability of suffering the consequences of future drug using and illegal behavior.

Specific course topics include history of drug abuse, drug/DWI laws, dynamics of drug use, drugs of abuse, how drugs work, cost of use and abuse, health issues, HIV, interpersonal relationships, de-glamorization of drugs, values and behaviors, past and desired behaviors, getting control of your life, resource options, and personal action planning. (Not applicable to deferred adjudication).